Skip to content

the Oscar Hammerstein award & gala

Thank You for coming to support the york and the honorees, and for such a wonderful evening!

Website-Internal-Page-Info-RESIZE-1 -w LOCATION copy
Susan Stroman4/9/07Credit Photo: ©Paul Kolnik Studio

Couldn't make it to this years Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala?
You can still be involved!
Consider making a donation in honor of Susan Stroman.

The Oscar Hammerstein Award is named in honor of the legendary lyricist and librettist who helped shape American musical theatre through his collaborations with a number of different composers and writers.  The award was created in 1988 by Janet Hayes Walker, the Founding Artistic Director of The York Theatre Company, and is presented with the endorsement of the Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization and the Hammerstein family.

The Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala is the major annual fundraising event of The York, a mainstay of the Off-Broadway scene for over 45 years.  Past recipients include Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden & Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander & Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Sir Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing, Tony Walton, Joseph Stein, Thomas Meehan, Jerry Bock & Sheldon Harnick, Barbara Cook, Paul Gemignani, Lynn Ahrens & Stephen Flaherty,  Angela Lansbury, Joel Grey, and most recently, Tom Jones & Harvey Schmidt.

Previous Awards & Galas

2017 - tom jones & harvey schmidt

The 26th Oscar Hammerstein Award was presented on Monday, December 4, 2016 to Broadway legend Tom Jones & Harvey Schmidt. The event also featured Gretchen Cryer & Nancy Ford, Robert Cuccioli, John Davidson, Rita Gardner, Adam Kantor, Judy Kaye, Norm Lewis, Samantha Massell, Michele McConnell, Tracy Lynn Olivera, Randy Rainbow, Ben Rimalower, Frances Ruffelle, Christopher Sieber, Lesley Ann Warren, Susan Watson, Well-Strung, Betsy Wolfe, and Freddie Gershon.

2016 - Joel Grey

The 25th Oscar Hammerstein Award was presented on Monday, December 5, 2016 to Broadway legend Joel Grey. The event also featured Carolee Carmello, Robert Creighton, Christine Ebersole, Sutton Foster, Bebe Neuwirth, Rory O'Malley, and Bernadette Peters.

2015 - angela lansbury

The York Theatre Company hosted the 24th Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala on Monday, November 16th, 2015 in honor of Angela Lansbury.